// default Accordians Closed:

Junior Awards Evening

In a dazzling showcase of youthful talent, boundless enthusiasm (and Christmas jumpers), the Stratford Cycling Junior Awards 2023 unfolded with much excitement. The event, held at HGC, celebrated the achievements of junior cyclists and also highlighted the promising future that lies ahead for the Club.

As each young cyclist took to the stage, adorned with well-deserved medals and trophies, this was not just a celebration of individual victories but the collective promise of a vibrant and thriving junior cycling community in Stratford. The cheers and applause echoed a shared sentiment; the future of cycling in Stratford is in good hands with these determined and talented young riders leading the way.

Let’s take a closer look at the winners.

We award the Endeavour Award twice a year (circuit & cross) to someone from G1/2 and someone from G3/4. This award is not about winning races or podiums but about attitude, commitment and trying your best week in week out. For the summer circuit racing season this was awarded to :

  • G1/2 Tara Richmond-Russell  
  • G3/4  Henry Macwilliam

For the winter cross season, the award went to:

  • G1/2 Blake Richmond-Russell – dropped down a group at the start of the season to regain confidence and then bounced back up with confidence abound and added enthusiasm.
  • G3/4 Nathan Edmunds – brings determination, tenacity and focus to every training session and raised nearly £1,000 by completing 11 triathlons in 4 hours.  Inspirational stuff.

Most Improved Rider – Tara Richmond-Russell

Over the past year we’ve seen Tara grow amazingly. This year she moved up a group and not only survived in that group, but have positively thrived, heading to the top end of that group almost straight away.

Robert Heenan Trophy for Outstanding Junior Rider – Aidan and Benedict Sherriff

For the first time this was awarded to two people, the Sherriff brothers. It’s impossible to separate them. Between them they raced over 80 times (with 49 podium positions), taking in series in Hillingdon, Mallory Park, Curborough and the West Midlands Youth League, as well as a number of National races and the European Youth Tour of Assen.

Benedict’s U10 season peaked when he won the 4th stage at Assen whilst wearing the Green Sprinters jersey.

Aidan’s U12 highlights were winning the National Race at Oulton Park, town centre crits at Warwick and Dudley and the Mallory Park series.

As well as lots of competition they also found time to raise over £1500 for Ukraine by riding 150 miles to Aberystwyth over 3 days.

Circuit Overall Points Award

Best Female – Jorgie Gillett

Best Cyclo-cross – Aidan Sherriff

Cyclocross Overall Points Award

Best Female – Scarlett Ford

Best Male – Jefferson Tear-Verweij

Lots of thank you’s went out to coaches, parents, riders, helpers and basically everyone who helps make the Junior Section ‘tick’.

The list of winners in each category:

Circuit1st2nd 3rd
U8 GirlsTara Richmond-Russell  
U8 BoysMaxton Brookes  
U10 BoysBennedict SherriffBlake Richmond-RussellNathan Edmunds
U12 GirlsJorgie GillettEmelia Marks 
U12 BoysAidan SherriffJack HoltomLewis Marks
U14 GirlsScarlett Ford  
U14 BoysCharlie Shalders  
U6 GirlsImogen Shephard  
U8 GirlsTara Richmond-Russell  
U10 BoysNathan EdmundsLucas ShephardHarley McKinnon
U12 GirlsJorgie Gillett  
U12 BoysRuben DelbekkeOscar DelbekkeOllie Owen
Youth B FemaleEmilia Marks  
Youth B MaleLewis MarksAlfie PunterAidan Sherriff
Youth A FemaleScarlett Ford  
Youth A MaleRuben StringfellowJefferson Tear-Verweij 
Junior MaleDavid Poole  

WOW – what a year. Roll on 2024 !

More Stories...

SCC Track Night

We had a great club event to Derby Velodrome on Saturday 11th November. 37 of us rode the boards,...

read more